The Journey Is Done, But Not Over…

Well, this will be my final post for my mapping project. Just to summarise what I’ve learned over the last few weeks:

– Maps can come in so many different types, and don’t have to be conventional or geographic. Anything can be mapped. It doesn’t have to be a map of a place, either. It could be a map of someone’s thoughts, a map of links between words or subjects, or a map of colours or shapes.

– Any kind of media can be used to make a map – not just pencil and paper. Organic material, household items, living creatures, even rubbish can be used to make a map.

– Different methods of mapping can express different things – different points of view, different aspects of an area…they can even transcend what’s on the surface to analyse what lays beneath. Maps can have many different layers, and can show quite a few different things at once. This is useful for when you want to compare a few different things on the one map.

 

The map I have decided to display for my assignment, I believe, showcases all of the above. I’m very excited to show my installation, which just in the last day has evolved into something amazing. I have a suitcase full of props ready to display around my map, which will be projected in a dark room, reminiscent of a quarantine station, with some creepy music playing in the background and signs posted at the doors and around the room. I hope it gives people chills like it does for me.

Well, I suppose it’s time to wrap up now. It’s been fun, Cavarians. Heh, yeah, Cavarians is a name I came up with myself for all you CAVA kids. Anyways, let’s get excited for the next project! Onto the next one!!

 

Signing off,

Olivia Corletto

 

Leave a comment